Complementary and Alternative methods for Graves’ Disease, Hyperthyroidism or Hypothyroidism

WebsiteHeader

The science today is speechless about what is the cause of Graves’ disease and similar autoimmune diseases like Hashimoto’s disease, Lupus, Diabetes type I, Rheumatoid Arthritis and many others. Some people even have more than one of them. We can speculate forever what caused our autoimmune disorders and probably we’ll never know for sure, neither will our doctors. Especially when the disorder is a possible combination of numerous factors: the chemicals, the genetically modified foods we consume every day, the heredity, the exhausted adrenal glands due to massive and chronic stress, the single traumatic events or mycoplasma bacterium (as noted by some clinicians). The pure physical causes may vary depending on circumstances and conditions, but chronic autoimmune diseases are, in fact, systematic malfunctions caused by collapses in the body chemistry balance. How is that happening? How our otherwise perfectly designed body structure will allow this to happen?

There are many answers to this question and they are very individual for each and every person. But the fact is that the body harmony is destroyed, causing different symptoms, which have only one purpose- to draw your attention to your body. We are no longer mindless because the focus now is on the pain, discomfort and what is wrong with your bodies.

The traditional medicine, unfortunately, does not look at the body as a whole, but as a combination of separate parts put together in something called “body”. Thus, the approaches for treating different disorders is focused only on the dysfunctional organ, whatever that organ is. Alternative and complementary methods though look at the body differently- they treat it as a whole system where all the organs are connected and one organ affects all the others. The approach is completely different and it aims the harmony and alignment of all body parts and systems, so speaking, of the whole body and mind.

There are hundreds of alternative and complementary methods from Western and Eastern culture that can help pretty much any health condition. None of them is better than the other, they are just different approaches. People are drawn to one or another technique depending on their culture, personality or general knowledge. I have listed below 10 alternative and complementary methods that are easy accessible, exist in pretty much any culture and country and are also very affordable. There is no guarantee which one will work for you but based on this ancient wisdom, I believe that your body will greatly benefit from it, regardless which one you’ll chose. 

The only thing that is required from you is to give it a try,  be open to new experiences and be willing to incorporate these methods in your everyday  life.

If you are curios and want to learn more and also get the answers of questions like:

What  is the difference between complementary and alternative technique?

Are these methods safe and how you should approach and practice them?

What are the most popular and easy to implement? Check below:

10 Complementary and Alternative techniques for Graves’ Disease and Hyperthyroidism 

If you have experiences with other alternative  and complementary methods and techniques that helped your condition, please share them.

Even more natural methods and alternative techniques are available in my books below. Please, click on the picture below and check them now:

CollageGraves2

4 responses to this post.

  1. Hi Svetla,

    I have had Graves Disease for at least 15 years that I know of. I have tried all the alternative approaches and unfortunately they did not help me. I have been determined to keep my thyroid, so…

    Six months ago I started using Lugol’s iodine to treat my Graves. This was the successful mainstream treatment 100 years ago and was used up until 1960’s or so, until the drug companies developed patentable drugs that don’t work very well and have a lot of side effects.

    I tried Tapazole but was allergic and my liver enzymes rose.

    The Lugol’s worked very quickly to get my hormones back in range and I’ve been titrating to keep them at the right levels. Currently I am using a “block and replace” approach, using a little T4 with the Iodine. That seems to be working well.
    My goal is to get into permanent remission. If you’d like a little background on what I’m doing, google Dr. Guy Abraham and The Iodine Project.

    I’ve kept detailed logs and would be happy to share my experience thus far. It is a work in progress.

    Thank you for all you do to help people with Graves.

    Lynn
    Boston area, USA

    Reply

    • Posted by sbankova on March 3, 2014 at 9:37 pm

      Hi Lynn,

      thanks for sharing your experience with Lugol solution and how this worked for you. I am glad that it worked! I’ve heard before about other similar cases but I personally don’t have experience with it and never used it. However, I am also very open for new methods and ways to help the thyroid! Yes, please, do share your experience and what you exactly did. It may help other people as well!
      Thank you again,
      Svetla

      Reply

      • Hi Svetla,

        I started with Lugol’s (iodide/iodine) Solution in August of 2013. My FT4 = 4.7 (0.8 -1.8) and my FT3 = 9.1 (2.3 – 4.2) I was feeling really sick. This was going to be my last attempt to keep my thyroid before having it removed. I would not do RAI and I was allergic to anti-thyroid drugs.

        I got the Lugol’s at a compounding pharmacy for $35 for a 1 ml. bottle of 5% solution. Lugol’s is available online for less, but I wanted to make sure (as sure as possible) that the product was pure, at least to begin with.

        I put a little grape juice in an 8 oz measuring cup, add Lugol’s, fill with filtered water. This masks the iodine taste. Drink with food. Take early in day as may interfere with sleep. Some people mix in a quart of water and sip during the day. It varies.

        From my research, doctors at the turn of the century used up to 15 drops a day to treat Graves, so I started there. I worked up very quickly from 1 to 15 drops over a period of 2 weeks. I noticed a difference immediately. I felt much better. I stayed at the same dose for another 2 weeks. Labs: FT4 = 1.6 FT3 = 4.0. No TSH, but that remains suppressed for a long time and that’s fine. Those labs turned out to be my best ones, but I had trouble maintaining those levels as you will see.

        I stayed on the 15 drops for another month (in retrospect, maybe I should have lowered the dose) and Labs were FT4 = 1.0 and FT3 = 3.4. The FT4 was too low.

        The next month I lowered the dose slowly from 14 to 4 drops and the Labs were
        FT4 = 0.8 and FT3 = 3.5. FT4 was still too low.

        The next month I went to 2 drops and Labs were FT4 = 0.9 and FT3 = 3.5.

        So, since the FT4 was too low, I cut the Lugol’s dose even further, to one drop.
        Labs FT4 = 1.5 and FT3 = 4.3. The FT4 came up nicely, but the FT3 was too high.

        I stayed on the one drop for another month. Labs FT4 = 1.6 and FT3 = 5.2. This was not good. I was feeling really hyper because of the high FT3.

        This clearly wasn’t working well so I decided to take more Lugol’s (3.5 drops a day) and add in some T4, at 25 mcg a day. This is a “block and replace” approach. Labs after 2 weeks : FT4 1.8 (that’s good) but FT3 was 5.2 still. I was feeling really wired with the added T4. Couldn’t sleep.

        So I reduced the T4 by half (taking a .25 mcg capsule every other day) with 3 drops of Lugol’s daily. I will probably get a new prescription for 12.5 mcg so I can keep my levels even daily.

        Labs after reducing the T4 dose: FT4 = 1.5 and FT3 = 4.3. This is not optimal but pretty good, considering all the adjusting I have had to do. (I have no clue why I got these same lab results last November when I took one drop Lugol’s) Maybe the FT3 will drop on its own.

        This is still a work in progress. I am hopeful, however.

        I could not find a live, medical person to supervise me (I recommend this!) but I am in contact with Elaine Moore (www.elaine-moore.com) who is a Graves expert and has a Q&A service on her website. My GP is willing to order labs. I found an iodine literate MD about an hour from me who is of some help but doesn’t have experience with iodine and Graves. I couldn’t find any specifics online about titrating the dose.

        It is important to do labs frequently and adjust the dose accordingly. And everyone is unique, so others might have different results from me! Too bad there is no research in this area. No money to be made, after all, so no incentive.

        Good luck to anyone who decides to give this a try. There is a lot of information about non-radioactive iodine on the Internet, relating to hypothyroidism and preventive supplementation. I suggest getting familiar with that first.

        Best wishes,
        Lynn

  2. Posted by sbankova on March 13, 2014 at 6:39 pm

    Hi Lynn,

    thank you very much for sharing your experience! I hope this will help other people as well! As I mentioned before, I have no experience with that type of alternative treatment, but I’ve heard before that for some people it is very helpful. And yes, it was used in the past for treating hyperthyroidism, but the research is controversial. Hope it all goes well!

    Svetla

    Reply

Leave a Reply

