Cleaning the Emotional Bathroom of Graves’ Disease and Hyperthyroidism

 

stressedlady1I have a confession to make; I was a life time worrier. When it comes to worrying there was no other person in the world that can do that job better than me. I could worry pretty much about anything and any time, day or night. I guess I inherited this precious character trait from my mom who still likes to worry about everything.

 Anxiety has been my dear companion all my life, but that’s a personal trait that will never go completely away and I am very aware of that fact.

But when I was sick with Graves’ disease some 10 years ago, anxiety and negative emotions just bloomed like a flower, watered with care every day during summer. See what I am talking about? Along with the anxiety other “nice” emotions will show their ugly faces: I’ll also feel angry (1), resentful (2), annoyed (3), irritated (4), bitter (5) upset (6) or (7) all of the above, to the point where I get pissed off of myself.  Then my “monkey mind” decides to start feeling sorry for itself and just for a change, the self-pity, pessimism and guilt will come along. Which will be replaced, sooner or later, again, by obsessive worrying, irritability, crying and sassing, snapping people  with words, blaming,  and not always in that particular ugly order. You can safely add to this list emotional liablity, nervousness, irritability and you can get a pretty nice picture of Graves’ disease condition. Not that I didn’t have any positive emotions, but they would manifest so rare that I don’t even remember them.

How fun this was? You may ask my friends and family members back then when I was sick with Graves’ Disease…. And I am pretty sure that you have experienced some of these emotions (if not all)  at least once, if not on a regular basis, if you have Graves’ disease or hyperthyroidism. Have you?

And yes, it’s Graves’ disease and all thyroid hormones to blame for these emotions to a very big extend. We ask family members and friends to understand; we write heartbreaking letters to them and seek for the right words, hoping that they’ll somehow comprehend what is going on with us and that we are the victims of our own bodies. And they may, or may not. They’ll try to be compassionate and empathetic but they’ll still want this Mary, David, Christina, Alexandra etc. (insert your name here) they knew from before Graves’ disease and hyperthyroidism. They do not want the “insane” person we’ve become, but the previous, precious, version of you, not the “downgrade”.

So, how do I keep all these emotions under control? Emotions feed your thoughts and thoughts feed your emotions. That’s a never ending circle and you can either chose different emotions or different thoughts to break that vicious circle.

I want to share 4 simple tips how you can deal successfully with the negative emotions, associated with Graves’ Disease and Hyperthyroidism. 

5 tips to deal with  your negative Graves’ Disease and Hyperthyroidism emotions

And as always, if you have your own strategies, please share them here on this blog. You can not believe how many people this will help!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Vicki Frahm on October 22, 2013 at 6:54 am

    Thank you for the insight to what is going on with myself, now I can better myself in what to do when a sitution comes along.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

