Aloe Vera, Thyroid Antibodies and Immune System

  As we all know by now, Graves’ disease is an auto- immune disorder, in which the     immune system due to whatever reason is attacking its own cells. The immune system can be under-active (not fighting well with cancer cells for example), overactive- producing diseases like allergic asthma, or when is performing an inappropriate action attacking its own tissues like arthritis, lupus or Graves’ disease.

I’ve been asked many times by clients and patients if there is anything to be done to boost the immune system and help recovery, or just “make the immune system do its job right”. I didn’t know such a method…

Until today, when I read a book about Aloe Vera by Dr. Peter Atherton “The essential Aloe Vera”. You know that I like reading. So this is what I have found today and I have to share with you, because I believe that this is a valuable information about Aloe Vera:

Aloe Vera is not a magical plant, but it has two main effects on human health and organs that need to be mentioned here: it works on surfaces and membranes (like skin) and on disordered immune system (which is the case with Graves’ Disease). I am not going to list all its healing properties, they are many, but among them is another, very interesting one as well: anti-inflammatory (extremely important when dealing with Thyroid Eye Disease).

How exactly it works? Now I’ll make Biology easy for you:

The most important for the immune system are cells called lymphocytes, which are made of B cells and T cells, found in lymphoid tissue and the blood. The other important cells are called phagocytes- some found in the tissue, others in white blood cells circulating in the blood.  B lymphocytes produce antibodies, while T cells help B cells in this antibody production. They also find and destroy viruses, they control the level and quality of the immune responses. In general they tell your immune system what to do and when.

Now here comes the Aloe Vera gel in action. Aloe Vera contains a very important substance, called acemannan, found in its sugar part. It is a long chain polysaccaccaride and acts as an immune modulator. Meaning that has the power and ability to slow down or enhance the immune system response. In our case- should be able to manage the immune system to recognize its own cells and not attack them. It acts however it is required by the immune system!

The importance of acemannan is supported by the research of Carrington Laboratories in the USA, and a drug was produced named “Carrisyn”, licenses by FDA and given to AIDS patients. If it is assumed that it may help AIDS patients, I believe that drinking Aloe Vera can help Graves’ Disease patients as well.

Not to mention the Aloe Vera anti-inflammatory effect….on Thyroid eye disease for example.

aloe-vera-gelAm I drinking Aloe Vera gel? Yes, I am- at least for the last 3 years, every single day, between 30-60 ml, depending on how I feel. Not that I knew about its immune action, or  some of its  positive effects. I like it and find it very useful- I haven’t been sick for a very long time. After reading the book I mentioned above I also believe that it can help Graves’ disease by modulating the immune system to “take proper decisions” and anti- inflammatory for Thyroid Eye Disease as well.

You can buy Aloe Vera  pretty much from everywhere, but to be sure in its healing properties, follow this suggestions:

- make sure it’s certified by International Aloe Science Council (IASC), for Europe  the “Kasher” organization

- Contains at  least 97% pure Aloe Vera gel

- Comes from Aloe Barbadensis Miller type plants

aloe-vera-peachesI personally buy it from Forever Living Products and I am happy with them- their products exceeded my expectations through the years (at least those I have tried). I am not endorsing that particular  company, but if you want to sign as a distributor and save 15% ( I do get some credit for that, not sure what though), here is the link:

https://www.foreverliving.com/marketing/Home.do

You can use my personal distributor # 001 002 401 252.

And this bottle on the left is my favorite (with peaches).

The above article is my own production- that means I am just following the simple logic of healing..One thing for sure-Aloe e 100% safe, to the best I know.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by purity on August 7, 2013 at 7:03 pm

    Aloevera help me a lot I was having cancer $ going 4 radiation Iost lot of energy if it was not 4 aloe vera ill be died

    Reply

  2. Posted by Rebecca on September 6, 2013 at 4:26 am

    Amazing what they dont tell you about hyperthyroidism: ie what to eat – what not to eat; what chemicals will work for you which chemicals wont (Vitamin E makes my skin on my face (where I apply the moisturiser containing the E) come up in red red lumps). Where to check for which plants (in your country, and if you’re lucky, in your locality – see WHO world health results of which countries have a lot of iodine in the soil asw apposed to those that have hardly any). Amazing that supermarkets have no salt free potatoe chips, no salt free corn chips, and no non iodised salt, They also sell black chocolate loaded in theobromine another “-ine” substance that we hyperthyroids should have been told to watch out for [iodine; bromine, chlorine, betadine etc] , for symptoms of too much of it results in nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, and increased urination [I certainly get that with cococola's diet coke]. These can progress to cardiac arrhythmias, epileptic seizures, internal bleeding, heart attacks, and eventually death.
    Theobromine poisoning or chocolate poisoning [! - don't get the 85% cocoa, nor the 50-60 +++% etc] is an overdose reaction to the alkaloid theobromine, found in chocolate, tea, cola beverages,[1] açaí berries,[citation needed] and some other foods…Cocoa beans contain about 1.2% theobromine by weight, while processed chocolate, in general, has smaller amounts. The amount found in highly refined chocolate candies (typically 1.4–2.1 g/kg or 40–60 mg/oz) is much lower than that of dark chocolate or unsweetened baker’s chocolate (> 14 g/kg or > 400 mg/oz).
    We thyroid victims are on similar par however with our furry feline friends and our cuddly canine kind see wiki – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Theobromine_poisoning (from which I have taken some of the above)- for references: “The most common victims of theobromine poisoning are dogs,[3][4][5] for which it can be fatal. The toxic dose for cats is even lower than for dogs. However, cats are less prone to eating chocolate since they are unable to taste sweetness.[6]“

    Reply

    • Posted by Norma on October 3, 2013 at 4:02 pm

      I am one of the person who drinks aloe vera gel too. I vary it with aloe vera bits and peaches. I had hysterectomy because of the endometriosis. Since I was young I suffered every time I had my period, until in my early 40′s it was discovered here in North America that I had the disease. After my hysterectomy, I’ve been maintaining Forever Royal Jelly, Aloe Vera Gel, and I changed all my personal care including my skin care and cosmetics to forever Living Products. I always gain appreciation from others the way I look . Many noticed that I look 20 years younger than my age. Funny sometimes, because I always say I guess, I have a happy genes, somehow, Forever Living Products helped a lot. I also learned many things about good nutrition since I am involved in the Health and Wellness work at home. I gain freedom and I manage to take care my love ones. Forever Living Products involvement made me a better person, I gain personal and financial improvements.

      Reply

  3. Posted by Milena Stojkovic on November 4, 2013 at 8:32 am

    Pure aloe vera gel has an antitussive, anti-inflammatory, antiseptic, astringent, analgesic, soothing and healing effect. The gel makes injured tissue insensitive, relieves itching from insect bites, reduces fever, relieves constipation, expands the fine capillaries and purifies the blood.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,242 other followers

