23 Foods to help Hyperthyroidism and Graves’ Disease

Diet is a big selling word worldwide..There is a diet fro pretty much everything.Most of us suffering with thyroid problems believe that eating the right food or avoiding the wrong one will cure us from hyperthyroidism or Graves’ Disease.

This is true and not really true. No matter what you eat the next 24 hours it will not cure your hyperthyroidism overnight. But maintaining a proper diet in a long-term plan will cut a lot of your symptoms, will help your immune system to fight the over active thyroid and basically will improve in natural way the performance of your thyroid.

Accordingly, any food that naturally inhibits the thyroid overproduction is good, especially if you are diagnosed with overactive thyroid/ hyperthyroidism. These foods are called goitrogens, they can act as antithyroid drugs (like PTU and methimazole).

This is a short list of foods that may help your hyperthyroidism, some of them are called cruciferous vegetables, some of them are just fruits that do a similar job.

Cruciferous vegetables and goitrogenic fruits:

  • Broccoli
  • Brussel sprouts
  • Cabbage
  • Cauliflower
  • Kale
  • Kohlrabi
  • Mustard greens
  • Rutabaga
  • Turnips
  • Millet
  • Radishes
  • Spinach
  • Mizuna
  • Garden cress
  • Water cress
  • Daikon
  • Wasabi
  • Bok choy
  • Komatsuna
  • Rapini
  • Soybean and soy products, including tofu
  • Strawberries
  • Peaches


The above listed vegetables and fruits are enough to cover any food diversity for a week, you can mix and match, add meat, or river fish (this is not dangerous as it does not contain iodine), or anything else that comes to your mind.

Why not give a boost to the thyroid medication? But yes, just eating the above foods will not be enough..

Please, feel free to share any recipe, or diet suggestion, or idea you may have regarding hyperthyroidism diet.

23 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by moon on April 11, 2012 at 2:27 am

    Hello Svetla , while you recommend goitrogens in the article. i found another article/website that tells graves disease people to avoid goitrogens quoted from the website “Because Graves’ disease causes an increase in thyroid hormone production, eating these vegetables would seem to help the disease. However, interference with the uptake of iodine results in goiter, which allows the thyroid to filter more blood to try to get more iodine, leading to the production of more thyroid hormone. Those with Graves’ disease should therefore avoid eating these vegetables that interfere with normal thyroid function.”

    Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/article/322609-foods-to-avoid-if-you-have-graves-disease/#ixzz1rh8hSudl

    can you explain a little about the contradiction? thank you

    Reply

    • Posted by sbankova on April 11, 2012 at 4:09 pm

      Hi,

      thank you for the information, I checked the website you sent me. I can’t discuss its credibility and if the information there is reliable. I see that it does not specialize in Graves’ disease, but in all kinds of health information. This website also said “Consuming large amounts of brassica vegetables can therefore cause hypothyroidism, a decrease in thyroid hormone”, which is actually true, even though I never saw a person to turn from hyperthyroidism to hypothyroidism just by eating broccoli. I don’t know a case either, from my 9 years experience in this field, when eating vegetables from Brassica family caused goiter, which in fact could be another reason for hyperthyroidism. Usually people with Graves’ disease don’t have goiter, and vise- versa. Finally, I recommend goitrogenous and cruciferous vegetables based on my own experience and because I found them helpful when battling Graves’ Disease, and similar results were reported as well by many people through the years. Last but not least, diet is about 25% of the whole healing process for practically any disease, and of course, you should always use your own judgement and if in any doubt, consult your doctor.

      Svetla

      Reply

  2. You can find contradictions to anything if you search long enough. I however want to try beating this disease without extreme procedures that will turn one disease in to just another disease. To do this, what I am searching for is articles written by someone who has lived in my shoes and found a life style that actually worked. I believe I have found that here in Svetla’s articles. I am not going to continue searching trying to find articles that conflict with what she has done. Her method is tried and true so it is something I will try. Thank you Svetla for taking the time to help others like me who still believe God gave us ways to improve our health and even though I am taking my meds, I will add some stress relief methods, better diet and some natural herbs to my road to recovery.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Angela on August 2, 2012 at 9:00 pm

    I have a question: My dr said to stay away from kelp because it has a lot of iodine. But the same dr said that she wants to start preparing me for iodine treatments next year. Why would I need a pill for iodine and not just up my iodine intake from things like kelp and seafood?

    Reply

    • Posted by sbankova on August 3, 2012 at 2:12 pm

      Stay away from kelp because it contains a lot of iodine and speeds up all the body processes, including metabolism (which we don’t need right now). With the RAI treatment on the other hand they’ll kill completely your thyroid- i.e you’ll become hypothyroid for the rest of your life, on pills, with many other side effects..I would not suggest that. RAI is practically a radiation pill that destroys the thyroid (and to my opinion many other things). In Europe is very rarely used as a form of treatment because of the side effects.

      Svetla

      Reply

  4. Posted by sandy on August 10, 2012 at 3:55 pm

    Thank you also I was juicing all these vegtables and then read don’t eat these very confusing I will continue with them and flaxseed and aloe vera juice and some vitamins as well have not seen the endo Dr yet not for a month yet was just diagonised with graves

    Reply

    • Posted by sbankova on August 12, 2012 at 12:04 am

      Hi Sandy,

      it’s not so confusing :), trust me- just go green with Flax seed oil and Aloe Vera..No stress at all as well!
      Best regards,
      Svetla

      Reply

  5. Hi Svetla
    I’ve just been diagnosed with Graves. My very low TSH was discovered during a routine blood test, otherwise I would have had no idea that I had it. I’m apparently sub-clinical. I’ve been researching diet and just stumbled across your blog which I’m now following. I’ll definitely be back to read more! :)

    Reply

    • Posted by sbankova on August 12, 2012 at 12:02 am

      Hi Jude,

      yes, probably is sub-clinical if you have no symptoms..It may even regulate itself- I hope.
      Stay well,
      Svetla

      Reply

  6. i have hyperthyriodism, pls help to my diet plam

    Reply

  7. Posted by Vicki on August 28, 2012 at 5:29 am

    what can people do who have Graves di to stay healthy after RAI with diet, etc

    Reply

  8. Posted by Natasha on April 11, 2013 at 8:19 pm

    Should I avoid prenatal supplements that contain iodine if I have a low TSH, but would like to become pregnant? Also, is wheat germ powder or oil good or bad for low tsh? And last, what about spirulina powder? Should I stop taking that?

    Reply

    • Posted by sbankova on May 3, 2013 at 6:54 pm

      Yes, if you have low TSH that means that you are hyperthyroid and if I were you I would avoid prenatal supplements with iodine. Spirulina powder is used for Hypothyroidism, I contains iodine. I don’t really know about the wheat germ powder..

      All the best,
      Svetla

      Reply

  9. Posted by carling on May 17, 2013 at 11:33 pm

    I after 5 years fought to avoid the RAI but have taken it and i am hoping i can save what might be left with living foods…. Please tell me there is hope.

    Reply

    • Posted by sbankova on May 18, 2013 at 2:09 pm

      Did you already had the RAI or not? If you did, probably the thyroid is destroyed completely, but there are some cases where the RAI isn’t that successful. So you thyroid gland may be still functioning..What is the case?

      Reply

  10. Posted by Riza L. Yumul on June 30, 2013 at 8:27 am

    Good day! My husband who is 50 years old was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism 3 years ago. He lose 20 pounds then and had tremors. He was given medication, but when he felt better and regained the his lose weight he stopped taking his medications. A week ago he experienced the same symptoms and consulted with his endocrinologist and done series of lab test and showed that he has hyperthyroidism once again. Now I would like to closely monitor him in all his medications and diet as well. I am now requesting if you could share some healthy diet and recipes for people with hyperthyroidism so that i can prepare for him. Thanks and best regards..

    Reply

  11. Posted by evadne on September 3, 2013 at 7:18 pm

    my daughter is just 13yrs old and she has graves disease i really need some help . i am fighting cancer at the same time . soo i really need to know what shes not to eat and the list that you have based on my research these food is not to be consumed often if you have graves .i am confused……….

    Reply

    • Hi,
      sorry to hear about your daughter, I really hope she will overcome this disease soon! As per the diet for hyperthyroidism I do believe that eating goitrogenous foods and cruciferous vegetables will help her condition. I have to take out only soy from the list, as recent research shows that soy and soy products come from genetically modified resources, mostly, and I think they are better to be avoided. I would also suggest to avoid aspartame containing products as well and those that have artificial coloring. Hope this will help!

      Reply

      • Posted by tinahenja@yahoo.com on September 9, 2013 at 11:20 pm

        Thanks for replying. Ok good because she have graves which is hyper.so I really have to carefull
        Sent from my BlackBerry® device from Digicel

  12. Posted by tania on March 17, 2014 at 3:10 am

    Hi Svetla,

    My name is Tania and I was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism, and I also found out that I am pregnant. I am so worried because its my first pregnancy and I don’t want to take any medication that will harm my baby. Do you think that if I maintain a well diet following your advices my thyroid level will drop? and I will have a healthy pregnancy?

    Reply

    • Posted by sbankova on March 17, 2014 at 3:08 pm

      Hi Tania,

      I’ll try to answer your questions to the best I can. If you are diagnosed with hyperthyroidism, this could be due to many reasons and one of them is Graves’ disease. Graves’ Disease is an autoimmune disorder, which means that you have thyroid antibodies that are attacking your own body. This may not be good for your baby. That’s why the doctor wants to put you on medication (usually PTU, which is considered safer for pregnant women) to lower the thyroid hormones. Second, you may have mild or severe hyperthyroidism, I don’t know what the case is, only your tests and your symptoms can show that. Mild hyperthyroidism, without Graves’ disease, eventually can be improved by life style changes and diet, that’s not the case with Graves’ disease though.
      I can not give you a medical advice, I am not a medical doctor. But I suggest that you get closely monitored through the whole pregnancy by your endocrinologists, they know better your condition at that moment. I also know that there are many women with successful and healthy pregnancies, even though they had hyperthyroidism. Hope it all goes well. Let me know if you have any other questions, I’ll be happy to answer to the best of my knowledge.
      Svetla

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,585 other followers

